Favourite Things: April Edition

1 May

A day late, a buck short.

Oops!

It was a very busy month full of transition (finished undergrad!), a quick West coast trip and a few Sephora splurges. Here are a few of my favourite things about April.

Weddings

20140501-231735.jpg
We went to Vancouver for Easter weekend to witness two amazing people get married. I love weddings.

20140501-231606.jpg
A group shot during the festivities, after a beautiful ceremony, lovely dinner and several Negronis.

20140501-230636.jpg

20140501-230805.jpg
Some urban wildlife.

20140501-231653.jpg
And stumbling upon a quintessentially Vancouver scenario- a weed rally on 4/20

Although it was mostly rainy and I only got a quick clear view of the mountains, I still knew they were there by the fresh West coast air. Toronto’s got many things, but its got nothing on that.

Hibiscus

Is one of my favourite eateries in Kensington Market. The salad is worth the trip alone. It is at once both epic and refined: sweet potato, kelp noodles, lentils, broccoli, kale, carrots, beets, quinoa, tofu, currants, sesame, mint, green onion with a side of some sort of raw cracker. Oh my. The buckwheat crepe is pear, pecans and vegan cheddar. So homey and delicious. Hibiscus is the perfect spot to bring a book or a friend to enjoy on a rainy day.

20140501-231416.jpg

Two Faced Melted Liquified Lip Stick

I’m somewhat of a beauty product junkie and love to read about the latest and greatest. I’m excited to share this lipstick I picked up on a whim thanks to some strategic product placement at Sephora. The pigment is super bright, long wearing, and the application is so easy- no need to pair with lip liner (hurray!). There is another stunning shade called Orchid I’m dying to get my hands on, but it was sold out at the time. I want one of every shade.

20140501-232056.jpg

Tarte Cheek Stain

This one is called Blissful. I read some silly celebrity beauty profile about Anna Kendrick, and she claimed that she “doesn’t leave the house” without this. She always looks great and I respect her on Twitter so naturally, I had to try it. I really like the Tarte line because it is free of synthetic ingredients. You just swipe it on and blend it in. I use it on my lips too and it actually tastes good (so weird). It feels a little sticky at first but that goes away quickly. And it sounds crazy, but I enjoy not having to use a brush.

20140501-232049.jpg

New MacBook Air

20140502-002704.jpg
Best. Grad Present. Ever.

I’m so lucky.

Hoo-Ray for May!

M

20140502-003726.jpg

6 Responses to “Favourite Things: April Edition”

  1. Mum May 2, 2014 at 1:40 am #

    My favourite things in April…a spontaneous visit, cuddles, giggles, bacon jam, boeuf bourgignon and YOU! xxxx

  2. Jessamine in PDX May 2, 2014 at 1:55 am #

    That raccoon is terrifyingly large!

    • food,mostly May 3, 2014 at 10:52 am #

      He is a big fellow, isn’t he?! He actually seemed embarrassed to be caught out in the day light.

  3. Kate Moore May 2, 2014 at 2:19 pm #

    I’m excited that we made your blog! Even if I look like I’m thinking “WTF! Did I just get married?” Great to see you two. xo

    • food,mostly May 3, 2014 at 10:50 am #

      Ha ha Kate! A completely natural response I’d say!

  4. DellaCucinaPovera May 4, 2014 at 3:42 am #

    ❤ urban wildlife. And congrats on your grad present – and graduating!

Leave a Reply

Immy May

UK Lifestyle Blog

The Illusive Femme

inside my colourful mind

Crafty little Coco

DIY, Gluten-free Recipes and Life on Oahu

the vegan delicious

Vegan Recipes + Real Food

Maryseeo

Food|Beauty|Health|Travel|Everyday Adventures

Curated Style

Toronto life in style and fashion

eatprayjade

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

