These Bourbon-Miso Pork Chops Made Me Want to Blog Again

28 Sep

Are you there blog? It’s me, Maddie.

It’s been so long, I forgot my WordPress password.

It’s been so long, I forget how to work my iPad.

It’s been so long that I was worried that I had forgotten how to cook.

I was only reassured after magically dreaming up this recipe. I made it twice just to make sure it wasn’t a fluke.

20130928-013341.jpg

It wasn’t.

Sss’uper Easy Bourbon-Miso Pork Chops

-2 Bone in chops
-4 tablespoons honey
-2 tablespoons miso paste
-2 cloves finely chopped garlic
-2 shots Bourbon
-black pepper
– maybe some water

1) pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
2) in small sauce pan sauté garlic until fragrant, add Bourbon and let simmer for two minutes, stirring frequently, then add miso and honey, stir often and let reduce. Keep simmering over low heat.
3) brown chops on both sides using a skillet over high heat (2 minutes on each side should do)
4) transfer to baking sheet and cover with 1/3 of the sauce. Bake in oven for 15 minutes, turning once halfway through, baste with other 1/3 of the sauce. Do not overlook!
5) when chops are done, finish with remaining sauce and top with crispy red onions or garish of choice.

These were juicy and the sauce is a nice combo of sweet/salty, my all time favourite combo. Also fast!

On account of laziness and circumstance, I apologize for being such a wild non-blogging-flake, but rest assured my undisciplined and non-cooking summer was nothing short of dreamy. I am, however, excited to be back in the kitchen and sharing again this fall. I hope you’ll join me!

M

20130928-014931.jpg

20130928-015047.jpg

5 Responses to “These Bourbon-Miso Pork Chops Made Me Want to Blog Again”

  1. breezyk September 28, 2013 at 11:17 am #

    I want to eat these. (Said in a Liz Lemon voice).

  2. Melanie Weston Gyles September 28, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    omg yummy- more maddie- more….pork makes me nervous and I always tend to overcook it…come to think of it, I have always left pork chops in the oven for 35 minutes so 15 seems like it would still be raw inside…but I guess not!

    • food,mostly September 28, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

      Ideally you want to cook the pork to be 145 degrees…I used a meat thermometer the first time I made them and they were super moist and juicy!

  3. Mum September 28, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    I can attest that these chops are AMAZING! Plus you are as wonderful a cook as ever!! xxx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Food and Frivolity, 2013 in Photos and Recipes | food, mostly - January 1, 2014

    […] September was my triumphant return to blogging! These Bourbon-Miso pork chops shoved themselves into the limelight. Delightful. I made them twice, the second time for my mum on […]

Leave a Reply

Immy May

UK Lifestyle Blog

The Illusive Femme

inside my colourful mind

Crafty little Coco

DIY, Gluten-free Recipes and Life on Oahu

the vegan delicious

Vegan Recipes + Real Food

Maryseeo

Food|Beauty|Health|Travel|Everyday Adventures

Curated Style

Toronto life in style and fashion

eatprayjade

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

