Shakshuka: aka Middle Eastern Inspired Deliciousness in a Pan

7 Jan

Peppers, tomatoes, herbs, spices and baked eggs, with still-runny yolks set in the middle. I saw this recipe on martetatin and it looked so beautiful I had to try recreating it for myself! Two breakfast posts in a row? Don’t mind if I do…

It may look just like your basic stir fry, but the spices and herbs set this dish apart. Food 473

Food 459Food 462Shakshuka

(Serves 2)

  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 3 small yellow onions, finely sliced
  • 1 red and 1 yellow pepper, thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoons raw honey
  • 3 small bay leaves
  • 8 (or so) sprigs of fresh thyme, plucked (?)
  • 4 small ripe tomatoes, roughly chopped
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 teaspoon saffron threads
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or less, or more, depending on your penchant for spice)
  • 2 tablespoons paprika
  • 4 free-range eggs
  • 10-12 small cooked baby potatoes, halved
  • salt and pepper
  • fresh basil to garnish   ( I was missing cilantro, which would have been my first choice, but I certainly don’t turn my nose up at fresh basil in any situation!)
  • Note: I  threw in some roasted carrots and the baby potatoes from the night before. This dish is a good way to use up leftovers, however, the potato added a lovey hearty-ness that I would hesitate to skip in the future!
  1. In a large pan dry roast the cumin over medium high heat until fragrant (about 2 minutes) add the oil and onions and sauté for 5 minutes or so.
  2. Add the honey, herbs, peppers, potatoes and tomatoes and continue to cook over a high heat for another 10 minutes, until reduced somewhat.
  3. Over lower heat, add saffron, paprika  cayenne, salt and pepper and tomato paste. Continue cooking another 15 minutes, slowly adding water as needed to give the mixture a saucy consistency, like a pasta sauce.
  4. Heat two smaller frying pans to medium and divide the pepper mix between them, removing the bay leaves.
  5. Make a space in the middle and carefully crack 2 eggs into the pan, not breaking the yolks.
  6. Sprinkle eggs with more salt and pepper and cover the pans. Cook at a low heat for 10-12 minutes, until the eggs are just set. Garnish with fresh basil or cilantro and serve piping hot.

Almost nothing repulses me more than a sweet and sugary breakfast. So I’m excited to have discovered Shakshuka which is so savory and satisfying! Make this on your next lazy Monday Sunday and tell me how it turns out!

Food 475

Food 476Don’t forget to “Like” Food, Mostly on Facebook to receive the latest recipes and posts!

5 Responses to “Shakshuka: aka Middle Eastern Inspired Deliciousness in a Pan”

  1. musingmar January 7, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

    Gorgeous! And clearly delicious too 😊

  2. Mum January 7, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    Nom Nom Nom!!! xxx

  3. Bunny Eats Design January 31, 2013 at 1:08 am #

    I love Shakshuka! The first time I ever had it was at my local favourite cafe, they often have slightly off the beaten track breakfast dishes. I was hooked. There’s nothing quite like a runny yolk. Rich and oozing through a dish. Yum.

  4. kellybakes February 4, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    Oooh! This looks and sounds amazing. I admittedly love anything with fried eggs on top, but I love how colorful this dish is! I’ve never had shakshuka, but I think I need to try it. I’m also bookmarking your healthy falafel! Glad I found your site!

    oh and p.s. I will be interested to hear what you’re making for your candida cleanse. I have a friend abroad whose naturopath just told her she has that and she’s reading up on changing her diet. I’m going to give her your blog!

    • food,mostly February 6, 2013 at 12:17 am #

      Fried eggs are just awesome, and more photogenic then poached 😉

      I’m just a newbie at this candida cleansing too, but if I know someone out there is doing it too and following along, it will give me greater motivation to keep it up! Starting officially on Feb 10th, eek!

      Thanks for following! Welcome!

Leave a Reply

Immy May

UK Lifestyle Blog

The Illusive Femme

inside my colourful mind

Crafty little Coco

DIY, Gluten-free Recipes and Life on Oahu

the vegan delicious

Vegan Recipes + Real Food

Maryseeo

Food|Beauty|Health|Travel|Everyday Adventures

Curated Style

Toronto life in style and fashion

eatprayjade

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

