Aside

Best Ever Veggie Chili

21 Oct

Today I made my best ever chili. And I’ve made a lot of chili in my time.  It was fast too.

Earlier today I made a yummy carrot and black garlic soup that I was planning on posting about tonight, but honestly, this chili was the surprise sleeper sensation. SIGH…I ‘effing love Sundays.

Image

Image

Healthy, hearty and spicy/smokey. From his day forward,  I vow to never, ever, stray from this recipe!

Best Ever Veggie Chili 

  • 1 red onion- chopped
  • 5 cloves garlic – crushed/minced
  • 2 generous tablespoons cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 2 tablespoons ancho chili
  • 2 teaspoons chipotle chili
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 2.5 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons oregano
  • 2 tablespoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa
  • 1 chopped tomato
  • 1 large can of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 can kidney  beans
  • 1 can green lentils
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 2 cups corn
  • salt n’ pepa to taste
  • cheddar and green onions to garnish (optional)
  1. Fry onions and tomatoes with butter over medium high heat until browned. Add garlic and turn heat to medium. Add all spices, sugar and tomato paste. Mix well to form paste.
  2. Add crushed tomatoes, beans and lentils. Mix well. Let simmer for 15 minutes.
  3. Done! Best.

You guys, I have some exciting news. I’m going to Italy this week to check out Terra Madre!

It is a convention dedicated to the slow food movement, meaning preserving local traditions in food and promoting sustainable practices.

It was all very last minute, which only adds to the excitement. So stay tuned for posts about pasta, pizza, espresso and hopefully many, many more unexpected delicacies.

Andiamo!

3 Responses to “Best Ever Veggie Chili”

  1. raudette October 21, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    This looks great! And Italy – how exciting!!

  2. Bunny Eats Design October 22, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

    Very exciting! Have fun at Terra Madre. I look forward to the photos and blog post/s.

    I love the sound of cocoa in your chili recipe. I wonder if people also use chocolate?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Never Eat Muffins, But When I Do…. | food, mostly - October 2, 2013

    […] intent was to whip up a quick chili, which I did, using my Best Ever Chili recipe. […]

Leave a Reply

Immy May

UK Lifestyle Blog

The Illusive Femme

inside my colourful mind

Crafty little Coco

DIY, Gluten-free Recipes and Life on Oahu

the vegan delicious

Vegan Recipes + Real Food

Maryseeo

Food|Beauty|Health|Travel|Everyday Adventures

Curated Style

Toronto life in style and fashion

eatprayjade

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

