Sweet Potato Kofta with Cashew Coconut Curry

17 Apr

Image

I’m so sorry for abandoning the blog. The last few weeks have been an time of intense non-procrastination. Are you proud of me? Which is really a positive space to inhabit and every university student should aspire to. Thus, I have stayed far away from the blog. Too far. Although not much cooking has occurred, some has. There were even a couple of great dishes and photos taken, including some lovely tuna cakes and hearty gallo pinto bean burgers inspired by our trip to Nicaragua last summer.  But, alas, these posts were not meant to be.  I put off writing them for so long that I no-word-of-a-lie forgot the recipes. SO in honour of my hellish statistics exam now completed I’ve made these delectable treats to make up for lost time!

This is my take on Indian kofta, usually a vegetarian dish made of potato, vegetables or cashews and paneer. I decided to use sweet potato because I like them. I decided to use feta because I didn’t have any paneer, and Scott and I both randomly brought feta home yesterday (must.use.feta). They are quite healthy and easy to make!

Sweet Potato Kofta 

  • 2 cups cooked sweet potato
  • 1/2 red bell pepper finely diced
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta
  • 1/2 cup flour ( I used rice flour)
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 tablespoons plain yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon Garam Masala
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  1. Mix cooked sweet potato (skin on) with flour, red pepper, cilantro, yogurt, garam masala, ginger, feta and salt in large bowl.
  2. Form into small round balls.
  3. Cook in coconut oil at medium high heat until crisp and browned on all sides (about 2 minutes each side)

Image

Cute, huh? These would be great on top of mixed greens, or served as appetizers with tamarind chutney. But really, they were fabulous topped with a rich curry.And, not to “toot my own horn” or anything, but this curry is the best I’ve ever made (and I’ve made lots). I couldn’t get enough! It was inspired by one of my favourite cookbooks, Everyday Indian, but I put my own spin on it with the cashew and coconut instead of the (lighter) yogurt version (also awesome, but less creamy).

Cashew Coconut Curry 

  • 2 large onions
  • 4 medium sized cloves of garlic
  • 2 tablespoons of fresh grated ginger
  • 2 tablespoons of tomato paste
  • 1 tablespoon of cumin
  • 1 tablespoon of Garam Masala
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 tsp spicy cayenne
  • 1 tsp tumeric
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 cup cashews
  • 2 cups coconut milk
  • fresh cilantro to garnish
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup of water
  1. Sautee onions in coconut oil until browned over medium-high heat, long enough to be almost caramelized (about 15-20 minutes. This is a key step for enhanced flavour!). Once browned, add garlic and ginger and cook 2 minutes. Then add tomato paste and cumin and cook for 30 seconds.
  2. Reduce heat and add Garam Masala, honey (or sugar), cayenne, tumeric and salt. Cook 2 minutes.
  3. Add yogurt, water and 1 1/2 cups coconut milk, then blend well with hand held blender until smooth.
  4. Separately, puree cashews with remaining 1/2 cup coconut milk until smooth. Add to curry mixture.
  5. Simmer over low heat until ready to serve!

I served the kofta and curry over these corn crepes (almost like a dosa) with a green salad dressed in sesame vinaigrette.

Two notables- the next time I make kofta, I’m going to add chopped cashews. The sweet potato was rather soft and it would be nice to add more crunch. The bell peppers added to that, but even more crunch with the creamy-ness of the curry would be spot on. Secondly, the plain yogurt added a nice dimension that cut the richness of the curry a touch. In my opinion, it was an essential ingredient to the success of the dish. If there is no yogurt available, I would add a squeeze of lemon at the end for brightness.

Whew. Yummy.

Hopefully there will not be such a stretch until my next post! I’m looking forward to summer holidays (!) starting next week (!!). Scott and I are headed to Europe next month, so Food, Mostly may soon be reporting from abroad!

Image

Excitement!

One Response to “Sweet Potato Kofta with Cashew Coconut Curry”

  1. Mama April 17, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    Yummm…I had Malai Kofta at BBQ Hut years ago and once tried to reproduce it. You may remember the deep fried ‘sludge’ you got for dinner once, over basmati!
    I’m going to try your reipe!

    P.S. Yup…I AM very proud of you! xxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

Immy May

UK Lifestyle Blog

The Illusive Femme

inside my colourful mind

Crafty little Coco

DIY, Gluten-free Recipes and Life on Oahu

the vegan delicious

Vegan Recipes + Real Food

Maryseeo

Food|Beauty|Health|Travel|Everyday Adventures

Curated Style

Toronto life in style and fashion

eatprayjade

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

